Press Release back to list


(CULVER CITY, CALIF., April 26, 2007) - The week of April 30, three college students who grew up in San Diego will compete on Jeopardy!, America's Favorite Quiz Show.  Hometown favorites Haritha Sudanagunta, Elise Burton and Ashley Grand will face one of their most challenging "exams" to date ... the 2007 Jeopardy! College Championship.

Sudanagunta, 21, currently a junior at the University of California San Diego, is preparing to become a biotechnology graduate. Burton, 18, a freshman at the University of California Berkeley, plans to earn her degree in Middle Eastern studies. Grand, 19, a freshman at Harvard, has focused her studies on government. Along with 12 other elite collegians, they will compete for the ultimate cash prize of $100,000 and this year's Jeopardy!  College Champion title.

San Diego natives Burton and Grand have more in common than just their participation in the 2007 Jeopardy! College Championship. As former classmates at the prestigious Torrey Pines High School, they both graduated in June 2006.  Senior economics and government are just few of the many classes they attended together. Sudanagunta graduated from Patrick Henry High School in 2004.

Recently taped at the University of Southern California's Galen Center, the two-week competition will broadcast nationally starting Monday, April 30, through Friday, May 11, 2007. Please check your local listings for station and time.

Jeopardy! contestant coordinators traveled the country and auditioned thousands of prospective student candidates for the championship. The 15 students competing for the coveted title are:



Craig Boge, 21, Prosser, WA, Stanford University

Elise Burton, 18, Houston, TX,  University of California Berkeley

Brady Cassis, 20, Walpole, MA, Yale University

Hayley Clatterbuck, 21, Omaha, NE, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Cliff Galiher, 20, Half Moon Bay, CA, University of California Los Angeles

Ashley Grand, 19, San Diego, CA, Harvard University

Anna Han, 19, Allentown, PA, Penn State University

Christine Kennedy, 19, Lancaster, OH, University of Notre Dame

Alice Luo, 20, Alpharetta, GA, Georgia Institute of Technology

Dean Malec, 21, Gates Mills, OH, Northwestern University

Sarah Nothnagel, 19, Riverside, CA, University of Southern California

Haritha Sudanagunta, 21, San Diego, CA, University of California San Diego

Will Schultz, 19, Camden, NJ, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Pete Troyan, 22, Allen Park, MI, University of Michigan

Kaitlin Welborn, 20, Tampa, FL, University of Pennsylvania

In the first week of the competition, each player will appear in one of the five episodes.  The winners of each of these shows, along with the next four highest money earners, will go on to the semifinals.  In the second week, the nine semifinalists will compete in three episodes for a place in the two-game final match.  The second place contestant is guaranteed a minimum of $50,000, and third place pockets a minimum of $25,000. Semifinalists receive $10,000, and players eliminated in the first week receive $5,000.

Jeopardy!, a winner of 27 Emmy awards since its debut in 1984, was recently inducted into the Guinness Book of World Records for the most awards won by a TV Game Show. The series is the #1-rated quiz show in syndication, and has held that title for over 1,000 weeks. 

Jeopardy! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company. It is distributed domestically and internationally by CBS Television Distribution, a unit of CBS Corp. 

For interview opportunities with the contestants, please contact the Jeopardy! Public Relations Department at the numbers listed below.